Louisiana Kitchen

BPS17 is already over, and I had a lot of fun!

I met new people, had time to catch up with my friends and learned a lot from the posters and platform sessions. I also enjoyed the reception on Monday. The band at the quiet room was very nice! They even played a Brazilian song (Girl from Ipanema). I just wish there were more free drinks.

I thought I would not enjoy the food in New Orleans and planned to not write about it. But I am happy to say that I was wrong. I really enjoyed the red beans and rice. It reminds me of Brazilian food, with a different seasoning. I also had gumbo, a sort of stew made of meat or chicken and served over rice, for lunch during most of the conference. And I am planning to try catfish soon.

Now that BPS is over, I will spend some days sightseeing in New Orleans. Today I had time to follow some tips of a previous post, walk along the Mississippi River and listen to some jazz. If you like jazz, I recommend you a bar I went today, BMC. It is on Decatur Street at Esplanade. The band playing today (Wednesday) was very nice and there is no cover charge there. Walking along Decatur Street was also awesome! There are many old buildings with balconies, which reminds me of Paris. The name French Quarter for this neighborhood really makes sense.

Leave a Reply

