Biophysics, by its nature is interdisciplinary

Having always worked in an interdisciplinary field, even taking courses from various departments, I have perpetually felt I do not fit into a certain category. With my computer science friends I do not seem to belong, as I do biology, and among the science ones, I am the computer science geek.

However, here at my first BPS meeting, I was at ease, attending talks and symposiums one after the other variedly different from each other. I realize it is indeed only a matter of doing good science, and adding to the knowledge of the working of things around us. I was glad to see the optimism and so many motivated individuals around me.

This was very appropriately summed up when I heard on the Biophysical Society TV outside Great Hall A while charging my phone, ‘Biophysics, by its nature is interdisciplinary’.

Leave a Reply

