Preparations for a week of Biophysics in LA

HannaBarriga photoThis week I’m off to the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting in LA. This is my first Biophysical Society meeting and by far the largest conference I’ve attended – there are close to 7000 attendees. I will never have seen so many scientists in the same place at the same time and I’m really looking forward to it. We’re lucky the meeting coincides with the Oscars so I will no doubt be trying to spot a few celebrities in between lectures.

I’ll be guest blogging for the Biophysical Society during the meeting so look out for my updates. It’s a real honour so I hope you enjoy them. I’m just finishing off my final preparations – my poster for the meeting has been sent for printing and I’ve been looking over the schedule online. The poster board size is 6′ x 4′ so it will definitely be bigger than me! I’ve also spent some of this weekend looking through the scientific sessions programme, there are so many great speakers it’s going to be hard to choose between them.

The conference kicks off on Saturday with subgroup meetings – these are smaller meetings based around specific topics and will be a great way to meet researchers before the main meeting starts on Sunday. One of the challenges is always trying decide which talks to attend, there are generally two or three sessions running consecutively. I’ve downloaded the app (BPS360) and am going to use it along with the desktop planner to organise my time to try to get to as many talks as I can. It’s a great resource to keep track of where and when everything will be happening at such a large event.

For those of you following me, I hope you enjoy my updates and for those of you also travelling, safe journey and I’m looking forward to meeting you!

One thought on “Preparations for a week of Biophysics in LA

  1. Hi Hanna! Great post. It’s now a matter of hours. Welcome to being a guest blogger (I am one myself). Hope you have a great time at BPS.

Leave a Reply

