Pre-Presentation DANCING!

Well, here we are, we’ve made it to the final day of the conference! And for me, that means the day of reckoning has arrived… I give my presentation today!

My general tactic is going to be to stay hydrated (don’t want that dry mouth feeling), and most important, try to get excited. This is a tactic I developed earlier in graduate school to try to mimic the feeling I would get before tests: I would get excited and was overwhelmed with feelings of being totally prepared and ready to take this test on, so give it to me! Needless to say, this is a somewhat harder feeling to force, but the brain is quite a pliable object, and so I can believe it can be done. Instead of letting the nervous energy dissipate in jitters and shaking hands, etc, why not smile and dance!

Of course, it isn’t recommended to try this tactic In the actual presentation room, but I think you get the point. I’ll let you know how it all goes down afterwards, but for now, I’m going to come on, smile, get happy, do a little dance, and practice my slides another 50 times! See ya on the other side!

Leave a Reply

