Information for Communication

I haven’t had the chance up until now to look into the information that some kind individuals shared with me after the communicating science workshop.  I was surprisingly able to decode the scribbling in my notebook and find everything online that people told me about.  Here it is:

First off is a book by Randy Olson called Don’t Be Such a Scientist.  Being a fan of books, science, and telling people about science, this seems right up my alley.

Next, sparked by my question of available resources to help scientists communicate, a gentleman told me of a workshop at the Banff Centre in Canada on science communication.  Brace yourselves though, there is a hefty price tag.  I’m going to see if I can’t work with my graduate program or perhaps a local media outlet to get some funding assistance. 

Lastly, the acronym ASTC was written in my notebook.  Thankfully a quick internet search and a couple links brought me to the Association of Science-Technology Centers professional development page with a lot of good looking links I plan to check out in the future.

I was also reminded of a couple things while searching for this new information.  The USA Science & Engineering Festival, which I participated in last spring, is going to happen again.  The third iteration of the event is going to be held on April 26th and 27th of 2014.  The festival is guided towards getting kids interested in science and last year was a blast.  There were booths from schools and organizations all over the country and even some international groups.  Lockheed Martin was a major sponsor and had flight simulators and a fighter plane on display.  NASA had an entire row of tables with videos and various interactive contraptions to teach kids (and their parents) about science.  And to top it all off Bill Nye the Science Guy was there!   

More recently I watched a great video to inform people about the science of climate change from the Climate Desk.  I think it did a really good job explaining that even though its been so cold it doesn’t mean climate change isn’t still happening.

Hopefully some of these links can be useful to others as I try to spread the word about spreading the word of science.

One thought on “Information for Communication

  1. I want to recommend the AAAS Center for Public Engagement with Science and Technology: http://www.aaas.org/programs/centers/pe/

    Science communication can use social media to extend beyond academic grounds, here you have some great links to start putting your science online:

    Wiki of social media for scientist: http://socialnetworkingforscientists.wikispaces.com/ and http://socialmediaforscientists.wikispaces.com/

    Science online: a meeting for online science communicators http://scienceonline.com/

Leave a Reply

