Preparing for the Big Show in San Diego.

The Big Show is what I refer to the many times you will see biophysicists and researchers alike show there work.  I am excited to see the fascinating research that awaits in San Diego.  The Biophysical Society meetings, unfortunately, are only 5 days out of the year where we can come together to disseminate our work, network, and learn all the while having a good time as a part of BPS.  I look forward to the blogging and comments on various topics of the 2012 meeting!

My name is Eric M. Johnson-Chavarria and I am 4th year graduate student at the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign’s Center for Biophysics and Computational Biology Program.   I am currently working on single cell gene expression using a microfluidic device for free solution confinement.  I am Texas native and took some getting use to the cold winters here in Illinois.   My background is in physics at the University of Texas San Antonio.  Planning for two more years till PhD completion then hopefully back in the Lonestar state.  I am giving my prelim exam at the beginning of May, so I am currently pushing for more and more data!

Here is a brief list of the topics I plan to write about…so stay tuned!

  • Nanoscale Biophysics Subgroup meeting
  • Travel award reception
  • Graduate and Postdoc Institution Fair (Ill be representing my program…stop by Sunday 1-3pm if your interested)
  • Of course the keynote lecture, poster, and oral presentations
  • Local hotspots and dining

Safe travels and see you all soon!

Eric

DATA
The data that I mentioned.

Leave a Reply

